Skip navigation

Daily Archives: February 24th, 2009

Remember this?

*dances around*

I used to wake up on Saturdays to the sounds of Al Green or Luther or Tina Turner and the smell of Pine Sol. Those memories about have me in tears. My mom would blast that good music while cleaning the house. I’d get up and meet her in the kitchen, dance around with her and then eat me some good cereal before my cartoons started up.

Now, this is what is supposed to wake me up.

I’m not going to use this time to talk about my love/hate relationship with S Beezy and all ATL music. I’m just using that song as an example of how things have changed and how sad it makes me.

The state of maintstream music (i’ll just say Black Music.. because Coldplay, Oasis, most European groups, etc, still have my heart) today makes me really sad and makes me feel old. I’m too young to have abandoned the radio and the clubs. I’m too young to be out of the loop with the newest sounds, dances, and music related trends. I work at a bar on the weekends, so I’m often exposed to it unwillingly and it’s always a shock to my senses. Hip Hop today is all about the beats. Lyrically it sounds worse than a small 3 y/o trying to string together sentences to let their parents know they just pooped a big one. It’s a mess to say the least. Hip Hop has always been about the sound, but it was just one element. The DJ handled his/her part, the MC did his/her thing, the Grafitti artist was tagging in the background, and the dancer was body rockin. Today, Casio and Autotunes rules the record and the “MC” is saaaaaaaaaannnngggin like thissssssss “yeeaaaaaa gettin monnnnnnanaaaayyy ooooooohhhhhhhh” WTHeck!? Not to mention the dances these days. Stankey Leg? Swag Surfin? Superman/Batman/Spiderman/Juwannaman/I’m not really a man- A Hoe? Crank Dat Anything-you-can-think-of-in-30-seconds?

What’s really going on? I almost can’t take it, and it’s turning this 24 y/o into a serious homebody! But before I get beside myself and forget where I’m from. I give you a lil bit of my homestate flavor and when I’m home in FL you will see me hit it.

The Wu-Tang (the song is I just wanna f*** FL twist on B-more style)

Bing Ahhh (my fave)

But some of my fave artists I listen to that are mostly underground are: Slum Village, anything touched by J Dilla (RIP), Tribe, Older Kanye, Drake, Erykah Badu, Dwele, Eric Roberson, Viktor Duplaix, Amel Larrieux, Koop, The Cinematic Orchestra, Joe Budden, Common, 88-Keys, The Roots, Pharrell!, N.E.R.D., The Lady Jill Scott, Foreign Exchange, Old Little Brother, Daedelus, and the list goes on and on!

What y’all listenin to?

JG*

hey guys!

just a quick admin note…

as some of you may know, this blog was started as a place to vent and rant on whatever it is that i would see in my life that needed venting or ranting on. i recruited JG* to come and rant with me and we became the “ranting children”. although we do rant here about anything from fashion faux paus to rabbit effing, we both have other things that we do write about in different arenas. so with that, i would like to highlight some of the other blogs that we either write for or have started so that you have the opportunity to read some different things from us.

ladebelle’s writings:

  • JG* Runs the City – on this blog i share with the world information on my workouts, nutrition, and different causes that i’m involved in and believe in
  • SH Collective – this blog was started by ainz neal and here i’m writing on fashion, makeup, and all things pretty for both men and women

JG*’s writing:

Hey Hey. It’s really awesome that Ladebelle and I have branched out and are really active in the blogging community. Y’all should be excited that you saw us here first and you guys are our first true fans. 🙂

  • JG* Runs the City – A blog dedicated to working out and getting fit for big races all for a cause. This launched Ladies Run The City and the awesome Ladebelle is a member of that network too! Ladies get fine in 09 and raise dimes! (oh yea!)
  • The Mogul Group – Major fashion & lifestyle blog started by The Mogul Group. They are the who’s who of Atlanta and I’m really excited that they asked me to get on board with them. I write about sex, relationships, current events and politics. I’m one of their feature writers.
  • The Fresh Xpress– The pulse of Young Black America. What started off as an “interesting” relationship blossomed into me writing community related blogs for them. Every now and then you may see a post on love & relationships.

we hope you guys have the opportunity to check out some of the other blogs that we write for and are enlightened as well!!!

xoxo

ladebelle & JG*

**and now back to the regularly scheduled blogging**