Skip navigation

Some of you may not read JG* Runs the City and that’s quite alright. But I thought I’d share with you a post from over there. I’m fasting for 3 weeks and my fast has me practically reduced to eating Vegan. Only super vegan because I can’t have anything sweet or that includes sugar either. So I’ve been experimenting hardcore, and so far, I’m liking what I’m seeing. I’ve had a few hiccups, but overall, it’s been fun! I think there may be some major lifestyle changes on my horizon! 🙂

Yesterday some of you may have seen me tweeting about my Soy Curls. Well here’s a looksey real quick as to what I’m talking about.

soycurlslg

Interesting right? Well, I couldn’t wait to try some things with them so last night after midnight I gave them a try. Here’s the deal with Soy Curls. They are hard, and you have to re-hydrate them. You do this by soaking them in hot water for 10 minutes. Then you season them and cook in a skillet to be whatever you want them to be. Whether it’s beef or chicken or whatever. Last night I made “Chicken” salad with a few soy curls and it was yum! I’ll post the recipe below. The guy at the vegan store really put me on to them. I told him I was big on texture which is why tofu was just out of the question for me. He pointed me right to these.

Recipe:

  • Soy Curls
  • Veganaise (Mayo)
  • Celery
  • Garlic power, garlic salt, Poultry seasoning or chicken flavoring, celery salt
  • Chopped onions
  • Chopped Celery

Re-hydrate the soy curls for 10 minutes in hot/warm water. Drain and season with poultry seasoning. Place in skillet for about 5 minutes along with onions. When finished, place the onions and soy curls back in a bowl, mix with Veganaise, Celery, Garlic Salt/Power and Celery Salt to taste. And you’re done!

I wish I would have taken a picture.

For dinner yesterday I had sloppy joes over rice. And I made my first green smoothie! Yum!

smoothie

I did 1 banana, a cup of pineapple, 2 celery sticks, and a handful of collard greens. TASTY!!!

Let me tell y’all. Yesterday was hard. I wanted some red velvet cake, a cookie, some fried chicken, SOMETHING. I went to the Farmer’s Market to get all my veggies and fruits and I just about died. It was hard. The devil is a liar! LOL

And I worked out last night. I was really worried about that part, because I knew I was going to be hungry afterwards and I wasn’t sure how I was going to handle it. It wasn’t too bad, and I felt great! I’ll be able to handle next week’s race NO PROBLEM!

Enjoy!

JG*

3 Comments

  1. I’ve given up meat on most days, sugar, no desserts and no fast food! Been going strong for 6-7 months & I’ve lost lots n lots of inches! You can do it! YAY!!!

    Just sliding thru showing mad ♥♥♥!!!

  2. Sounds like you did a great job – sorry for you tempting you but I’m glad you resisted!

  3. I’m gonna try the soy curls! They sound good!


Leave a comment