Skip navigation

Some of you may not read JG* Runs the City and that’s quite alright. But I thought I’d share with you a post from over there. I’m fasting for 3 weeks and my fast has me practically reduced to eating Vegan. Only super vegan because I can’t have anything sweet or that includes sugar either. So I’ve been experimenting hardcore, and so far, I’m liking what I’m seeing. I’ve had a few hiccups, but overall, it’s been fun! I think there may be some major lifestyle changes on my horizon! :)

Yesterday some of you may have seen me tweeting about my Soy Curls. Well here’s a looksey real quick as to what I’m talking about.


Interesting right? Well, I couldn’t wait to try some things with them so last night after midnight I gave them a try. Here’s the deal with Soy Curls. They are hard, and you have to re-hydrate them. You do this by soaking them in hot water for 10 minutes. Then you season them and cook in a skillet to be whatever you want them to be. Whether it’s beef or chicken or whatever. Last night I made “Chicken” salad with a few soy curls and it was yum! I’ll post the recipe below. The guy at the vegan store really put me on to them. I told him I was big on texture which is why tofu was just out of the question for me. He pointed me right to these.


  • Soy Curls
  • Veganaise (Mayo)
  • Celery
  • Garlic power, garlic salt, Poultry seasoning or chicken flavoring, celery salt
  • Chopped onions
  • Chopped Celery

Re-hydrate the soy curls for 10 minutes in hot/warm water. Drain and season with poultry seasoning. Place in skillet for about 5 minutes along with onions. When finished, place the onions and soy curls back in a bowl, mix with Veganaise, Celery, Garlic Salt/Power and Celery Salt to taste. And you’re done!

I wish I would have taken a picture.

For dinner yesterday I had sloppy joes over rice. And I made my first green smoothie! Yum!


I did 1 banana, a cup of pineapple, 2 celery sticks, and a handful of collard greens. TASTY!!!

Let me tell y’all. Yesterday was hard. I wanted some red velvet cake, a cookie, some fried chicken, SOMETHING. I went to the Farmer’s Market to get all my veggies and fruits and I just about died. It was hard. The devil is a liar! LOL

And I worked out last night. I was really worried about that part, because I knew I was going to be hungry afterwards and I wasn’t sure how I was going to handle it. It wasn’t too bad, and I felt great! I’ll be able to handle next week’s race NO PROBLEM!




  1. I’ve given up meat on most days, sugar, no desserts and no fast food! Been going strong for 6-7 months & I’ve lost lots n lots of inches! You can do it! YAY!!!

    Just sliding thru showing mad ♥♥♥!!!

  2. Sounds like you did a great job – sorry for you tempting you but I’m glad you resisted!

  3. I’m gonna try the soy curls! They sound good!

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

