Skip navigation

Daily Archives: January 14th, 2009

Holla back! 

Aint nothing better in life than the Black Church Experience. Gotta love the Holy Spirit.

It’s not a Sunday service, but you get the point, and this video is funny as hell. 

I was born and raised in the church. And being the good southern girl that I am, I know alllll about that good holy ghost filled, and fire baptized church service. My church attendance has been on and off since high school, but I’ve recommitted to my church home here in ATL and I have to say, it’s good to be back. I love it. Church don’t feel like church to me unless there’s an Alter Call, mean ushers, too-touchy old Deacons, a choir that spends 15 minutes marching in and then brings the entire house down with a soulful rendition of “We Fall Down”, and a Pastor who can sing, play the piano, and preach till he’s blue in the face.

Ok, these experiences vary church by church, but seriously. How can you not love the Black Church Experience. Yes, it goes on too long because the preacher got fired up and the band started doing that song that gets everyone up and doing the choppy foot dance. Y’all know what I’m talking about. Yes some churches take up 6 offerings (this is a red flag to me and my church does NOT do this). Yes some churches take 40 minutes to beg people to come to the Altar and join.

But you gotta love it. 

I have some issues with today’s organized religion, that I’ll cover later, but I’m happy to have found a home that talks about these issues and keeps it real 100%. I never have to worry about how my tithes are spent, or where my church stands on certain issues. I attend a pretty big church and I’m going to be honest. The male membership there is on point. If I’m going to meet a man, let it be in the House of the Lord! LOL Thank you Jesus! 

But seriously, this particular post isn’t to bash church, or talk about the crooked pastors, we’ll get to that. But c’mon! Share you fun, good-hearted stories. Y’all know you got that Aunt that goes to church every major holiday and finds the Lord, but returns to her old ways on Monday. Or that Grandma that is in Church 24/7 but hides her flask in the Bible. 

And the people said…

 

Amen.

 

JG*