Skip navigation

Real talk. When I first saw this I sat there with my jaw on the ground. But it’s pure genius! I know most of you all have seen this, and honeslty you may feel like I’m preaching to the choir, but you never know. And clearly you do *read* since you are reading this blog. However, I am of the mindset that we have a charge to help those around us to do better. Far too many people walk around seeing through others and never reach out a hand to help.

So with all that being said, I watched this video and thought even to myself: What was the last great book you’ve read. I finally realized that it was Assata by Assata Shakur and it was a hard hitting book that really changed my focus on things. I love to read, and a good book is almost as stimulating as a great intellectual conversation between good friends. Sometimes even moreso because it can’t talk back and say some dumb ish. LOL But I read that book over a year ago. While I am an avid reader of blogs, and I feel like reading the political circuit is surely a great idea for someone wanting to get great insights to all sides of the political spectrum, I also feel like it dumbs down the process a bit. If you lurk on blogs you are simply feeding off of everyone else’s dissection of a topic. When you pick up a book or any other type of publication or literature it is up to you to form you own opinions and have that open dialouge and discourse with yourself. I think that is an important process for our own personal developement and ability to discover and research new things. I am a wiki and google freak. Any time I dig up something new that I don’t understand or I question it’s validity, I hit up google and dig and dig until I feel I’ve found somewhat satisfactory answers.

Are we teaching this to our kids today? Are we showing our kids that reading is more than just fundamental, it’s awesome and great too? I know grown people who can’t get through an 100 page book, and I feel like they are missing out on a wealth of good stuff. The classics. Alas Babylon, 1984, Revolutionary Suicide (Huey P. Newton’s Autobiography. Amazing) and a whole list of others. So let me share with you what I’m reading right now, and can you all do the same? Kind of a “Ranter’s Book Club” if you will.

  • Catch 22 by Joseph Heller (somehow I missed this one on the middle school reading list)
  • Siddhartha by Hermann Hesse
  • And I *might* just *might* pick up Steve Harvey’s new book Act Like A Lady, Think Like A Man

What y’all Ranters out there reading?

JG*

7 Comments

  1. I haven’t read anything worth mentioning lately. BUT I’ll say that the book that there are TWO reads that were life-altering for me and those were “When Chickenheads Come Home to Roost: My Life as a Hip-Hop Feminist” by Joan Morgan and “Eat. Pray. Love.” by Elizabeth Gilbert.

  2. I just finished “The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao” by Junot Diaz and “Trading Dreams at Midnight by Diane McKinney-Whetsone. Two incredible reads… I am currently reading “The Lovely Bones” by Alice Sebold and rereading “Racism 101” by Nikki Giovanni, which is a collection of essays.

    And I read Siddhartha is high school and have reread it many times, and it speaks to me a different way each time I read it…

  3. I love reading… To be hoenst with you, I would much rather read a book or mag or news paper then watch TV… Have you seen that Alec Baldwin commerical for Hulu.com – talking about TV is there to turn your brain to mush lmaooooo? Well that is so true lol…

    I usually read 2 or 3 books at a time… Here’s a list of books i’ve either just finished or am currently reading:

    Winning the Race – John McWhorter

    There’s a Spiritual Solution to Every Problem – Wayne Dyer

    I’m Just a DJ But… – Tom Joyner

    The Authority of the Believer – Kenneth Hagin

    What Black Men Should Do Now: 100 Simple Truths, Ideas and Concepts – K. Thomas Oglesby,

  4. i’m reading in the meantime by my girl iyanla… i love her books… when i read “yesterday i cried” i cried for hours… i love the release i get from her books…

    i’m also reading “let go and let God” in addition to some other various design books.

  5. First, I had never seen this video before so I was lmao!…it’s called speedstick???

    I finished an incredibly fast read called “The Secret” by Rhonda Byrne.
    I then went to “Thus spoke Zarathrusta” by Friedrich Nietzschie.
    I migrated to a self-help book on Tibetan Meditation by Tarthang Tulku.
    For some strange reason, I have a new fondness for William Shakespeare so I picked up his complete works from Barnes & Noble for, you guessed it, 19.99!
    Don’t laugh, but I’ve been reading Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows to my 2-year old boy for the last 5 months before bedtime. We’re on chapter 13…That’s how I roll.

  6. i’ve finished two wally lamb books in the last month: i know this much is true, and the hour i first believed. two excellent novels, especially i know this much is true. wally lamb is now one of my favorite authors. highly recommended.

    • wow… u finished them both? those books are really long!


Leave a Reply

