Skip navigation

In light of recent events and the rumors that followed regarding Chris Brown and Rihanna, it got me to thinking. (I’m not going to rant on that issue over here, but I will send you over to The MOGUL Group where I did manage to get all of my anger out) So without discussing the original situation that led to the rumors, I’ll just skip right to it. Word on the street is that Mr. Brown might be a little Blue over his wang being a little green. (I totally don’t believe this, but just go with me)

burning-bush

Everyone worries about getting burned. One of my favorite songs on the 88-Key’s album addresses this appropriately: Burning Bush. It’s a real problem out in the streets and you would think people would be more careful. But with the statistics out there staggering it seems like every other person you pass in the street has something yet when the questions are asked, everyone seems to be squeaky clean. Granted there are plenty of diseases that are quiet and dormant and never give you reason to kick down the nearest clinic door, but that just means you need to be a good steward over your privates and get that check-up regularly.

So what would you do if you looked down and discovered that your most prized posessions are experiencing their own “I Am Legend” transformation?

Well if you are in a relationship, it all depends. If you have been good on your end then I’m sure the first thought to go through your mind is “Oh…. i’mma kill that fool!” (man or woman) If you might have slipped up a time or two it gets a little tricky. It’s almost like the girl who is pregnant and doesn’t know who the father is. Kinda hard to go on Maury and ask “Who gave me this STD?”  This is why I say constant check ups are enomously important. They give you Benchmarks. On May 20th you messed around with Random X. On August 15th you had a check-up and you were clean. You and the boo continued to do you and on October 14th you were burning. In this situation you can reasonably deduce the source of the itch. Getting a check up at least 2-3 months after a suspect affair should give you accurate results. Either way, how do you approach the giver of bad news? Coming at them like a wildwo(man) isn’t  going to save you from the rubber gloves.

So what if you realize that it’s you that’s out there giving people the “forevers”? How do you tell the people you’re involved with and more importantly the one you love? What if it was something you didn’t know you had. Like HPV or something. In that case, your current boyfriend could have given it to you but since he can’t be tested (or affected really) neither of you knew.

If your girl said she had something like HPV how would you respond considering it really doesn’t affect *YOU* but could affect any future women if she doesn’t have staying power. And it may have been YOUR fault. It is definitely one of those sleeper sneaky diseases and not even a condom can save her. They also say that 80% of all women will eventually get this.

Are you more lenient if the “problem” in question can be gone with a simple co-pay, some antibiotics, and a week without liquor? If you met someone who you really liked and they had the burning bush but they were upfront with you and even had solutions as to how to safely have sex with them would you go for it?

These are some serious questions!

JG*

3 Comments

  1. This situation sounds nutty! It really does. However, if my woman has something and finds a way to tell me before we get to doing things, I am more willing to stay and see what can happen. If she has the “little H” we can probably work things out if she’s willing to have manage her stuff. If she has the “big H,” then that is something I am not going to stay around for. Anything that can be “cured with a co-pay” (i like that one), we’re all good.

    But here’s the thing; I don’t like many people. So, if I like her and she brings something to me before it gets risky, then I’ll hang with her. But if she endangers me, then there is nothing to discuss.

  2. man… this is a hard one…

    i’m pretty sure that my reaction would be significantly milder if it was a curable disease then one of the “forevers”. yeah, i would be pissed to all high hell cuz i had to become one of the statistics for an STD but hell, if i can just pop some antibiotics then my anger is gone once the burn is over.

    buuuuuut in the event i were to contract one of these other “forevers” i would probably have so many emotions going through me i wouldn’t know what to do. i can’t imagine having to deal with it. i really don’t know what i would do in all seriousness…

  3. oh that’s easy, drop an elbow on her eye.


Leave a comment