Skip navigation

I’m gonna get to know you better. 🙂 

What black person doesn’t remember this playing throughout their warm house during the holiday season? 

 

Ahhh it feels good. I woke up this morning to the sweetest sounds of Van Hunt. Oh this man makes my life just right. 

 

Yessssss.

Yessssss.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I know he’s old news, but this morning it just seemed so right that I couldn’t be wrong. The air was so perfectly nice this morning. I stood out on my balcony and took it all in. 

 

Not the best pic of the view, but you get it

Not the best pic of the view, but you get it

I had ATL at my hands. Deep breath. It’s a beautiful thing to wake up and appreciate God’s beauty and grace. I was instantly at peace with all that was stressing me in life. I then realized what day it was. It’s Thanksgiving Eve!!!! Most people who know how to throw down during a real Thanksgiving Meal know that today’s the day the cookin starts. That way you don’t have as much to do tomorrow, and the sides have marinated and are extra good. I’m getting excited just thinking about it. 

 

See I am an eater. I eat. It’s what I do. I gave up beef and pork (Another blog another day) but I go hard on everything else. Being an eater, I had to learn a while ago that the only way to truly satisfy my extreme desire for all things good, I had to learn how to cook. Learn I did. There was also the fact that I was in an extremely serious relationship and he decided that I needed to learn how to cook as well. 🙂 So needless to say, this holiday season, me and my girls are getting together, with our Quarterlife Crisis selves and we’re going to cook up a meal. I have done Thanksgiving for the past 3 years, so I’m seasoned. 

 

My friends (not in the creepy McCain way) let me tell you what’s on the menu. 

Garlic Roast Chicken (I’m not ready to tackle a turkey yet, and honestly, it’s just a few of us)

Baked Cream Cheese Mac & Cheese (Y’all might wanna ask for this recipe. It’s that good)

Carrott Souffle

Collard Greens

Sweet Corn

Mashed Potatoes

Dressing

And of course… Sweet Potato Pie! 

 

The only thing I’m slightly pissed about is that I didn’t get to go home this year and experience the joys of this baby: 

 

THE HOLY GRAIL OF FAT ASSNESS

THE HOLY GRAIL OF FAT ASSNESS

This my lovely people. Is a Turducken. Yes. You heard it right. A Turducken. It’s a Turkey stuffed with a Duck stuffed with a Chicken. Oh… and there’s stuffing. Sweet Baby Jesus in his Sweet Baby Jesus crib!!!! Isn’t that just amazing and lovely!? 

My Daddy had promised me that he was going to make it for me. I’m really longing for this. I almost feel like I need it in my life. I feel like I can imagine was it tastes like. 

 

Oh Well…. Enjoy your Thanksgiving! And post great recipes if you have them!!!! 

 

JG*

5 Comments

  1. Shake a hand, shake a hand…love DH!

  2. A coworker introduced me to Turducken the other day. Well, I didnt get to taste it but he basically lamented on how delicious it is. I wish I could taste it but i dont know anyone who cooks it.

  3. That Turducken looks mighty interesting! Hmmm…

    I hope you had a great Thanksgiving! 🙂

  4. Ooo-wee that turducken looks good. … But I had one question though? Carrot Souffle? How do you make it?

    I hope you had a WONDERFUL Thanksgiving.

  5. Turducken is the truth.

    Carrot Soufle.

    1lb bag baby carrots
    1/2 C sugar
    1/2 stick of butter
    1 tbs flour
    3/4 tsp baking powder
    3/4 tsp vanilla extract
    1 1/2 eggs beaten

    Boil the carrots down, mash them like sweet potatoes, add the sugar, blend, then add the flour and eggs, then the rest of the ingredients. Place into a shallow baking dish.

    Take some flour, butter, and brown sugar and make like.. crumbles. Then spread that over the top of the carrot mixture. it will harden on the top and be tasty!


Leave a Reply

